The Secret History, Vol. 1


Released August 11 2015


Format: dbl LP

Pavement made five proper album-as-albums: Slanted and Enchanted (1992), Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain (1994), Wowee Zowee (1995), Brighten The Corners (1997) and Terror Twilight (1999). Each has its own sound. Each has its own legend. But each of their official albums has a shadow album—and it’s usually as strong as the album that actually *did* come out.

Matador finally started releasing a series of these shadow albums. The Secret History Vol. 1 is (naturally) the first in this series. Released in 2015, it collects the songs that got away during the era of Slanted and Enchanted.